Continual improvement 2018-01-01T10:27:31+00:00

Continual improvement

Continual improvement, to adapt and stay ahead

Since 2006, the continual improvement approach, which is also called Lean Management, has formed integral part of the strategy of Norske Skog Golbey. All the employees are thus required to work routinely on issues that help improve the overall efficiency of the company.

The continual improvement approach involves working on three areas:

  • operational systems,
  • management structure,
  • state of mind.

Lean management is aimed at five goals: improvement of flows, quality, lead times, productivity and working conditions. Ultimately, the achievement of these objectives will help reduce costs and improve the overall efficiency of the company.

At Norske Skog Golbey, over half the staff have already taken part in at least one Kaizen project. A project brings together approximately ten employees from different backgrounds, but all concerned by a shared subject with potential for improvement. The members of Kaizen project teams participate directly in working on the objectives sought, the preparation of an action plan followed by its implementation and assessment, and lastly the formalisation of the practices selected as new standards.

 Several continual improvement projects have made us winners of ATIP (technical body of the paper manufacturing industry) trophies, two gold and two silver.

One of the successful Lean Management projects

Our watchword: continual improvement, to adapt and stay ahead

In a context of ever fiercer competition, our sustainability particularly depends on the achievement of highly demanding objectives in the areas of:

  • profitability,
  • safety
  • customer satisfaction (quality, cost, lead times etc.).

The implementation of continual improvement principles in our day-to-day activities helps us get there. The work is all the more fruitful because it enjoys the support of all the employees of Norske Skog Golbey.

With the implementation of a first continual improvement programme in 2006/2007, all the people working in the mill were made very well aware of its basic principles. Since then, the continual improvement approach is gradually being integrated into day-to-day work.

More recently, a new continual improvement phase of the lean management type was initiated in the form of projects. The aim is to reduce costs and improve overall performance of the company by adopting new working methods and working on the state of mind.

Amélioration continue

S’adapter et gagner avec l’Amélioration Continue

Depuis 2006, la démarche d’Amélioration Continue, également appelée Lean Management, fait partie intégrante de Norske Skog Golbey. L’ensemble des salariés est ainsi amené à travailler au quotidien sur des problématiques permettant d’améliorer la performance globale de l’entreprise.

La démarche d’Amélioration Continue permet de travailler sur trois axes :

  • les systèmes opérationnels,
  • la structure du management,
  • l’état d’esprit.

Le Lean Management vise cinq objectifs : l’amélioration des flux, de la qualité, des délais, de la productivité et des conditions de travail. L’atteinte de ces objectifs doit au final permettre de réduire les coûts et d’améliorer la performance globale de l’entreprise.

Chez Norske Skog Golbey, plus de la moitié des salariés ont déjà participé à au moins un chantier « Kaizen ». Un chantier réunit une dizaine d’employés d’horizons divers mais tous concernés par un sujet commun présentant un potentiel d’amélioration. Les membres des équipes chantiers Kaizen participent directement à la réflexion sur les objectifs à atteindre, à l’élaboration du plan d’actions puis à sa mise en œuvre et à son évaluation, et enfin à la formalisation des pratiques retenues en de nouveaux standards.

Plusieurs chantiers d’amélioration continue nous ont valu des Trophées ATIP – Association Technique de l’Industrie Papetière – (deux Or et deux Argent).

Un des nombreux chantiers à succès – primé par le Congrès ATIP

Notre mot d’ordre : « S’adapter et gagner » avec l’Amélioration Continue

Dans un contexte toujours plus concurrentiel, notre pérennité dépend notamment de l’atteinte d’objectifs particulièrement exigeants en matière de :

  • rentabilité,
  • sécurité
  • satisfaction du client (qualité, coûts, délais…).

La mise en œuvre des principes de l’Amélioration Continue dans notre fonctionnement quotidien nous aide à y parvenir. La démarche est d’autant plus fructueuse qu’elle s’appuie sur l’implication de l’ensemble des collaborateurs de Norske Skog Golbey.

Avec la mise en œuvre d’un premier programme d’Amélioration Continue en 2006/2007, l’ensemble des collaborateurs de l’usine ont largement été sensibilisés à ses principes de base. Depuis, la démarche d’Amélioration continue a petit à petit été intégrée dans le travail quotidien.

Plus récemment, une nouvelle phase d’Amélioration Continue de type « lean management » a été activée sous la forme de « chantiers ». L’objectif est de réduire les coûts et d’améliorer la performance globale de l’entreprise en adoptant de nouvelles méthodes de travail et en travaillant sur l’état d’esprit.