Local industrial ecology/Circular economy 2018-01-01T10:27:32+00:00

Local industrial ecology

Circular economy

Norske Skog Golbey is active in its territory and committed to promoting the circular economy and partnerships. In an age where the newsprint market is getting harder, local industrial ecology is taking on crucial importance. Besides, it is one of our CSR commitments.

The Green Valley cluster secured approval from the national planning and development authorities in 2010 and is a concrete application of the principles of industrial ecology. It is particularly atypical in its form, because it is designed to serve local economic development. It is the result of an association between the local institutional actors, private businesses and our paper mill, which have founded a co-development company (ECODEV). The latter is responsible for coordinating and developing the approach.

The shared objective is to create new industrial activities in the area of eco-materials. The Green Valley thus fosters synergies between Norske Skog Golbey and future industrial companies in a win-win deal. Local industrial ecology is currently reflected by the pooling of assets, know-how and the flow of materials and energy connected with paper manufacturing. Work will continue through the development of an ‘Ecopark’ near the site.

boys_reading

A responsible approach and a smaller carbon footprint

From the environmental point of view, such pooling and working in a circular economy have made it possible to make significant reductions in the carbon footprint. The environmental impact of the Green Valley is positive. That is because the industrial synergies help recover the unavoidable energy from the papermaking process (steam), doing away with the need for an independent gas boiler.

Green Valley: a success story

The most significant project that has been enabled by the Green Valley to date is the installation of Pavatex, a leader of insulating wood fibre panels. In 2013, the Pavatex project represented investment of € 60 million and led to the creation of 50 direct jobs. The employees were recruited locally. The arrival of a new manufacturing company in the area gave a boost to business with local providers, in industry or services (indirect jobs).

Besides, the partnership with the teams of the Fibres Campus located close by has allowed innovations to optimise the industrial process:

  • 12% reduction of energy consumption
  • reduced consumption of raw materials: -9,000 tonnes of wood
  • reduced water consumption: 90,000 m3 saved every year

In November 2014, when we took part for the first time in the Enterprise and Environment Prizes organised by the Ministry for the Environment, Sustainable Development and Energy in partnership with ADEME, we were extremely proud to receive the First Prize in the Circular Economy category thanks to our Green Valley approach. The prize was officially awarded to us at the Pollutec fair in Lyon in December 2014.

For further information, please contact us

Ecologie industrielle et territoriale

Actif sur son territoire, Norske Skog Golbey souhaite s’inscrire dans une démarche d’économie circulaire et de partenariats. A l’heure où le marché du papier journal se durcit, l’écologie industrielle territoriale devient un enjeu primordial. Elle fait d’ailleurs l’objet d’un de nos engagements RSE.

Le cluster Green Valley, labellisé « grappe d’entreprises » en 2010 par la DATAR, est une application concrète des principes de l’écologie industrielle. Elle est particulièrement atypique par sa forme car mise au service du développement économique territorial. Elle est née d’une association entre la Société d’Economie Mixte d’Epinal-Golbey, des entrepreneurs privés et notre papeterie. L’objectif commun est la création de nouvelles activités industrielles dans le secteur des éco-matériaux.

La Green Valley favorise ainsi les synergies entre Norske Skog Golbey et les futures entreprises industrielles dans un deal gagnant-gagnant. L’écologie industrielle territoriale se traduit à ce jour par la mutualisation d’actifs et de savoir-faire, de flux de matières et d’énergie en lien avec la papeterie. La poursuite de la démarche se traduira par le développement d’un « écoparc » à proximité du site.

boys_reading

Une démarche responsable et une réduction de notre empreinte carbone

D’un point de vue environnemental, les synergies créées au sein de la Green Valley permettent des économies substantielles en termes d’empreinte carbone. En effet, les synergies industrielles mises en place à ce jour avec la société Pavatex ont permis d’éviter l’emploi d’une chaudière au gaz indépendante grâce à la récupération et à la réutilisation de l’énergie fatale du procédé papetier (vapeur) pour la fabrication de panneaux isolants en fibres de bois.

La Green Valley : exemple d’une success story

Le projet le plus conséquent permis à ce jour par la Green Valley est l’implantation du fabricant de panneaux isolants en fibres de bois Pavatex. La réalisation du projet Pavatex en 2013 a représenté un investissement de 60 millions d’euros et la création de 50 emplois directs. Le recrutement s’est fait au niveau local. L‘arrivée de ce nouvel acteur industriel dans le bassin d’emploi a permis le développement de l’activité avec des acteurs locaux, que ce soit dans l’industrie ou les services (emplois indirects).

Par ailleurs, le partenariat avec les équipes du Campus Fibres situé à proximité a permis d’innover pour optimiser le procédé industriel :

  • réduction de 12 % de la consommation énergétique
  • réduction de la consommation de matière première : économie de 9 000 tonnes de bois par an
  • réduction de la consommation d’eau : économie de 90 000 m3/an

En novembre 2014, à l’occasion de sa première participation aux Prix Entreprises et Environnement organisés par le Ministère de l’Écologie, du Développement Durable et de l’Énergie en partenariat avec l’ADEME, la Green Valley a eu le plaisir et la fierté de recevoir le Grand Prix dans la catégorie « Economie Circulaire ». Le prix a été remis officiellement à l’occasion du Salon Pollutec à Lyon en décembre 2014.

POUR PLUS D’INFORMATIONS CONTACTEZ-NOUS