Management of water and atmospheric discharge 2018-01-01T10:27:33+00:00

Management of water and atmospheric discharge

Responsible and sustainable management of water and atmospheric discharge from the manufacturing process

As part of our responsibility approach, we are committed to controlling our emissions. That also forms integral part of our environment-related CSR commitments.

Newsprint manufacturing requires the use of large quantities of water. That is because paper pulp is made of 99% water and 1% fibres. Norske Skog Golbey abstracts water from a gravel pit. After use for our manufacturing processes, it is treated in our water treatment plant. 81% of the abstracted water is given back to the Moselle river. The rest either escapes into the atmosphere or is used to manufacture paper.

Before it is discharged in the Moselle river, the water is recycled as much as possible within the production process itself. For example, 30% of the water from the treatment plant is put back into the circuits.

As a responsible paper manufacturer, we need to control the quality of our emissions. That is why they are continuously monitored by sensors, and undergo daily testing in our laboratory. Approved independent outside bodies also test supplementary parameters and validate our internal inspections.

boys_reading

Twice a year, an outside laboratory carries out tests in order to calculate the “standardised overall biotic index” (IBGN). This is an overall score of the biological quality of an ecosystem. Since 1991, monitoring has shown that our emissions have no impact on the quality of the Moselle.

To read the subtitles, please click the CC button.

Gestion de l’eau et des rejets atmosphériques

Une gestion responsable et durable de l’eau et des rejets atmosphériques

Engagés dans une démarche de responsabilité, nous nous devons de contrôler et maîtriser nos rejets. Cela fait également partie intégrante de nos engagements RSE liés à l’environnement.

La fabrication du papier journal nécessite la mise en œuvre de grandes quantités d’eau. En effet, la pâte de papier journal est constituée de 99% d’eau et de 1% de fibres. L’eau est prélevée, dans le cas de Norske Skog Golbey, dans une gravière. Après avoir été utilisée dans nos procédés de fabrication, elle est traitée dans notre station d’épuration. 81% des prélèvements d’eau sont rendus à la rivière Moselle. Le reste soit s’échappe dans l’atmosphère, soit est utilisé dans la fabrication du papier.

Avant d’être rendues au milieu naturel, les eaux sont recyclées au maximum au cours même de la production. A titre d’exemple, 30% des eaux sortant de la station d’épuration sont réinjectés dans les circuits.

En tant que fabricant de papier responsable, nous nous devons de contrôler la qualité de nos rejets. Ils sont donc vérifiés en continu par des capteurs ainsi que par des contrôles journaliers en laboratoire. Des organismes externes et indépendants réalisent également des analyses sur des paramètres complémentaires et valident nos résultats internes.

boys_reading

Ci-contre, un schéma mettant en avant les tests de qualité de l’eau de la Moselle en amont et en aval de notre usine réalisés par des organismes indépendants.