Environment 2018-01-01T10:27:36+00:00

Environment

Reconciling industrial efficiency with environment protection

As a responsible industrial facility, we need to work in a manner that protects the environment to the greatest extent possible. Our efforts are particularly focussed on reducing our carbon footprint and on the sustainable management of raw materials.

Reduction of our carbon footprint

CSR commitment: Reducing our carbon footprint

Large quantities of energy are consumed while manufacturing newsprint:

  • electricity, mainly for the thermo-mechanical pulp-making process.
  • gas, for steam production.

In order to measure our progress and the effects of our action, our carbon footprint is assessed every two years using the ADEME method.

Action taken to reduce our carbon footprint:

  • Co-generation: modification of our main boiler to produce steam for a turbine that generates ‘green’ electricity, operated by our partner Cofely.
  • The reduction of the share of fossil fuel used in our main boiler, in order to significantly reduce gas consumption.
  • Opti’Watt programme: application in the company of a culture and tools that maximise energy efficiency.
  • Use of railway for our shipments whenever possible (railway have accounted for 48 to 52% in recent years).
  • Development of the use of railway for our procurements of bulk recycled paper: development of an innovative and patented solution named Valorail with our logistics partners. It has earned our partner MGE an Environmental Innovation Prize at the SITL logistics industry fair in 2012.

Management of raw materials and repurposing of waste

CSR commitment: Preferring reduction at source, reuse, recycling and repurposing of waste

Paper manufacturing is naturally part of a circular economy system, as we use the following raw materials:

Recovered paper, essentially sourced from selective collection from French households. To manufacture our newsprint, we recycle 500,000 tonnes of newspapers, magazines and advertising leaflets every year. That is the equivalent of the sorted paper waste of 26 million French people. By buying those materials from local authorities, we give them a recycling solution that is environmentally friendly and cost effective.

By-products from sustainably managed forests. The use of wood, which is indispensable for renewing new fibres in the globalised modern paper circuit, also helps the economic exploitation of forests and ensures that they are maintained. Our responsibility consists in promoting practices that are environmentally friendly, socially beneficial and economically viable. Buying these by-products of sustainable forest exploitation gives a significant boost to the activity of local forest and sawmill operators. That contributes to the vibrancy and sustainable operating of the wood industry in north-eastern France. Their use in our process makes it possible to recycle them in the manufacturing of paper, which is recycled in its own turn after use.

Waste repurposing

99%

99% of our waste is repurposed:

  • Internally (power generation): water treatment sludge, de-inking sludge, bark, recovered paper trituration waste.
  • Or externally (mainly material repurposing): metal, cardboard etc.
1%

The remaining 1% is made up of miscellaneous non-hazardous waste that is mixed or where there is as yet no identified repurposing stream. It could for instance include used fabric or felt used with paper machines. Our objective is to further reduce the volume of that waste by working with partners on the possible repurposing of certain targeted waste.

Circular economy, a key requirement for our times

CSR commitment: Promoting the local co-development of new streams for eco-materials and circular economy

boys_reading

We are committed to reusing not just our waste but also the by-products generated while manufacturing paper, particularly eco-materials derived from wood, as part of a circular economy.
The aim is to develop innovative solutions that are socially responsible and create value. Our team of development engineers is devoted specially to the organisation and execution of R&D projects to put in place innovative solutions.
To that end, we work in close collaboration with the different partners present in Lorraine, such as the Fibre-Energivie cluster, the Wood CRITT, ENSTIB and many other partners like Copacel.

Environnement

Concilier performances industrielles et respect de l’environnement

En tant que site industriel responsable, nous nous devons de travailler dans le plus grand respect de l’environnement. Nous concentrons particulièrement nos efforts sur la réduction de notre empreinte carbone et la gestion durable des matières premières.

Réduction de notre empreinte carbone

Engagement RSE : Diminuer notre empreinte carbone

La fabrication du papier journal implique une consommation importante d’énergie :

  • de l’électricité : essentiellement pour le défibrage thermo-mécanique des plaquettes de bois.
  • du gaz pour la production de vapeur.

Afin de mesurer nos progrès et les impacts de nos actions, un Bilan Carbone® est réalisé tous les deux ans selon la méthode ADEME.

Actions menées pour réduire notre empreinte carbone :

  • Cogénération : modification de notre chaudière principale pour alimenter en vapeur une turbine qui produit de l’électricité « verte », exploitée par notre partenaire Cofely.
  • Réduction de la part des combustibles fossiles utilisée dans la chaudière principale et donc de la consommation de gaz.
  • Programme Opti’Watt : instauration dans l’entreprise d’une culture et des outils propres à optimiser notre efficacité énergétique.
  • Utilisation dès que possible du chemin de fer pour nos expéditions (rail = 48 à 52 % ces dernières années).
  • Développement de l’utilisation du rail pour nos approvisionnements en papiers récupérés en vrac : mise au point avec un de nos partenaires logisticiens d’une solution innovante et brevetée, VALORAIL. Notre partenaire MGE a remporté pour cela un Prix de l’Innovation Environnementale au salon professionnel logistique SITL en 2012.

Gestion de la matière première et valorisation des déchets

Engagement RSE : Privilégier la réduction à la source, la réutilisation et la valorisation de nos déchets

La fabrication de papier s’inscrit naturellement dans un schéma d’économie circulaire.

Nous utilisons pour la fabrication de notre papier journal les matières premières suivantes :

Les papiers récupérés issus essentiellement de la collecte sélective auprès des ménages français. Pour fabriquer notre papier journal, nous recyclons chaque année 500 000 tonnes de journaux, magazines et publicités. Cela équivaut à la collecte sélective auprès de 26 millions de français. En achetant ces matières aux collectivités territoriales, nous leur offrons une solution de recyclage écologique et économique.

Des sous-produits issus de forêts gérées durablement. Indispensable au renouvellement des fibres vierges dans le circuit papetier aujourd’hui mondialisé, l’utilisation du bois contribue également à la valorisation économique des forêts et à leur bon entretien. Notre responsabilité consiste à promouvoir des pratiques respectueuses de l’environnement, socialement bénéfiques et économiquement viables. L’achat de ces sous-produits de l’exploitation raisonnée des forêts permet d’offrir un débouché non négligeable aux forestiers et scieurs locaux. Cela contribue au dynamisme et à la pérennisation de la filière bois dans le Nord-Est de la France. Leur utilisation dans notre processus permet de les recycler dans la fabrication du papier qui pourra lui-même être recyclé ensuite…

La valorisation de nos déchets

99%

99 % de nos déchets sont valorisés :

  • En interne (valorisation énergétique) : boues de station d’épuration, boues de désencrage, écorces, refus de trituration des papiers récupérés.
  • En externe (valorisation matière principalement) : métaux, cartons, cendres etc.
1%

Les 1% restants sont constitués de divers déchets non dangereux en mélange ou pour lesquels il n’existe pas encore de filière de valorisation identifiée. On peut par exemple citer les toiles et feutres usagés (ou habillages) utilisés sur les machines à papier.
Notre objectif est de réduire encore le volume de ces déchets en travaillant avec des partenaires sur la valorisation possible de certains déchets ciblés.

L’économie circulaire, un enjeu actuel

Engagement RSE : Co-développer localement de nouvelles filières dans le domaine des éco-matériaux et de l’économie circulaire

boys_reading

Nous voulons valoriser non seulement nos déchets mais également les sous-produits générés par la fabrication du papier, notamment ceux issus du bois, sous la forme d’éco-matériaux, et ce dans une démarche d’économie circulaire.

L’idée est de développer des solutions innovantes qui soient sociétalement responsables et créatrices de valeur. Notre équipe d’Ingénieurs Développement est spécialement dédiée au montage et à l’instruction de projets R&D pour mettre en place des solutions innovantes.

Nous travaillons pour cela en étroite collaboration avec différents partenaires présents sur le territoire lorrain comme Le Pôle Fibres-Energivie, le CRITT Bois, l’ENSTIB et de nombreux autres partenaires comme Copacel.